73 Omega 350 upper and lower hose about same temp.

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2012, 10:20 PM

73 Omega overheating problem please help

Hello,
I'm new to classic Olds and to older cars in general, my father and I recently purchased 73 Omega with a 350. The car is in good shape and drives great, the only problem is that it runs hot usually at highway speeds it starts to overheat. I have replaced the water pump, lower hose and had the radiator flushed, but the problem didn't go away. I noticed that there is some white stuff build up inside the radiator on the end of the fins. so i took the temp readings at the inlet and outlet of the radiator and the difference was less the 5 degrees. I believe the radiator is the culprit but am also considering the fan clutch.

If anyone can give their opinion on the matter I would appreciate it

Last edited by herdez55; May 20th, 2012 at 04:20 PM.
Old May 7th, 2012, 11:10 PM
XCELERATIONRULES!

Overheating usually is from internal engine friction,worn bearings etc.
Check simple things like restrictions in the hose(spring installed?),fan shroud installed correctly,fan blades should meet at the shroud.
I've seen people add a flex fan which protrudes too far into the shroud and leaves little room for airflow.
Flush the radiator with prestone super flush to remove built up scale.
Old May 8th, 2012, 02:48 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by herdez55
I believe the radiator is the culprit but am also considering the fan clutch.
I agree. If it were the fan clutch, it'd be overheating at idle in traffic, not on the highway.

- Eric
Old May 8th, 2012, 04:58 AM

did you check to make sure there is a thermostat installed?
Old May 8th, 2012, 09:27 AM

Radiator has been flushed, but no there is no thermostat

Thanks for the replies,