Electric Fuel Pump and tank venting

Search this Thread

Old April 7th, 2012, 11:57 AM

Electric Fuel Pump and tank venting

Alright fellas, the "first" and "110 octane" posts are cute but let's get down to business...I have been waiting ever since I proposed this idea months ago.

I installed a RobbMC 1/2" pickup and electric pump on my car last week. I took the factory vent tubes off of the corners of the tank and plugged the factory return tube.

Question: Do I need to put the vent tubes back on or can I just cap them? The gas cap is being replaced with a locking type new cap, so I'm not sure the tank will vent that way.

I'm new to this whole electric scene...but I'll tell you, I don't know why I waited so long...the car even sounds different at idle!

Steve
Old April 7th, 2012, 12:22 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

If you pull gas out of the tank, you've got to let air in to replace it.

Up until about '70 or '71, depending on the model and market, most cars did not have evaporative emission controls, but by '72 all or almost all did.
Evaporative-equipped cars have a sealed fuel system, while earlier cars do not.
The sealed gas cap is an essential part of the evaporative emission system, and is an easy way to pick out which cars were so equipped, while the vented cap is used on non-evap. cars.

I'd say that it wouldn't hurt to reinstall the corner tubes, as they may provide balance, and help the fuel in the tank to behave better while sloshing around, reducing chances of uncovering the pickup, and, most importantly, I would make sure that your new gas cap is vented. If it is a sealed cap, you'll have problems.

- Eric
Old April 7th, 2012, 01:08 PM

Ok, I'll put the tubes back in and connect them to the standpipe. Next question, Is it ok to leave the emission vent pipe open at the standpipe? (The far left tube that would've gone back to the charcoal canister)