Post Blasted Body Primer Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old September 15th, 2014, 08:48 PM

Post Blasted Body Primer Advice Needed

I am looking to get my body shell, hood, doors and decklid blasted with walnut shells by a local shop but, they do not do paint work. So I am looking at shooting epoxy primer onto the entire body in and out to protect from corrosion myself. I am planning on then taking the car to a body shop to take over with the body work and paint. The question I have is how long will the epoxy primer be good for once it is applied? The reason I ask is I have yet to find the shop to do the paint work and would like to have the car ready. Since I am doing a frame-off, the rolling chassis will be fully assembled underneath the body at the point I shoot the primer. Also, should I spray a surfacer/primer such as Slick Sand on top of the Epoxy Primer base to further seal? I am a novice to this hence the questions.

Appreciate the feedback.

Sean
Old September 16th, 2014, 12:59 PM

I am not an expert but epoxy primer if properly applied can be on for years if not exposed to sunlight. The shop that does the final paint however, may still want to strip it again. After all, they will be responsible for adhesion of the final job.
Old September 17th, 2014, 06:48 AM

I think it should be ok considering the body will be under a car cover and protected from moisture.

Thanks
Sean
Old September 17th, 2014, 08:35 AM

If you can keep it dry I would take it to the body guy with no primer on it. My body was blasted back in May and still not in primer. It was hauled from Indy to Brazil in an enclosed trailer and put into a dry body shop. Has no signs of surface rust yet. Should be in primer this week or next. My body guy wanted to do the major body work with it stripped. Let him prime it the way he wants.
Old September 18th, 2014, 04:59 AM

Sean,