Old April 24th, 2017, 05:38 AM
It's a Cutlass.

I have acquired a Quadrajet with the number 7045213. From my little bit of checking it seems it came from a pickup truck in the early 70s, off a 350 motor. I would like to use it for my C/S. Currently there is a twice (at least) rebuilt quad from a 455 on it with the front fuel inlet. I'm in no way well versed on these. Externally, the 213 carb has a side inlet, and some sort of emissions fitting in the rear. I will take pictures this evening, but from this info, can anyone tell me if it's feasible to use for my Cutlass? The previous owner of the carb thinks it has never been rebuilt. I see no obvious (like a Holley sticker) evidence to contradict him. The screws look stock to me, the carb is very dusty, dirty, but otherwise looks pretty good, the side fuel inlet looks like it is stock too. But, as I said, I'm very new to all this. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old April 24th, 2017, 06:06 AM

Jeff, you an use a Chevy Q-jet on your Cutlass. The only thing you would have to do is change the fuel line from the fuel pump to the carburetor. During the rebuild you might consider re jetting it and putting different rods and hangers in it too, but that's not mandatory. The only thing though is that Chevy Q-jets have the same issues as the Olds Q-jets. Leaky fuel inlets, worn out throttle shaft bushings, etc. Why not rebuild the Q-jet that's on it now?
Old April 24th, 2017, 06:12 AM
It's a Cutlass.

Thanks for the reply. The current carb was rebuilt by Holley long ago, and then poorly by me recently (first try). I was told it is not long for this world or words to that effect, so have been looking for a replacement. My 350 had been bored out and a mild cam installed by the previous owner, and this carb was from a 455. I think. Anyway, I will probably see if CQR (Clint) can help me again.
Old April 24th, 2017, 01:02 PM