Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

Oil passage for a non rotating shaft. Any engineers?

Search this Thread

Old January 7th, 2024, 10:29 AM

Oil passage for a non rotating shaft. Any engineers?

I am not sure I can ask this question correct but here it goes. Would oil pressure react different between a oil port and a rotating shaft in a bearing compared to the same but the shaft not rotating?

What I am doing is deleting the counterbalance shafts on a Toyota 2.4 engine. The "proper" way is to remove the shafts and drill and tap the oil feed hole and plug it off. With this, I can never add the shafts later if desired. What I want to do it leave the shafts in place but without the gear that spins them. This would still allow oil to feed the bearings but the shafts are not spinning. I personally can't see a problem with this but I am also not an engineer.
Old January 7th, 2024, 11:47 AM

You will lose a lot of oil pressure like that. The shaft has to to rotate to get the oil film. The oil film takes up the clearance and keeps the shaft centered in the bearings. Without rotation the shaft will be pushed up by the oil psi against the far side of the bearing and oil will **** out between the bearing and shaft. It'll bleed off a lot of pressure off.
Old January 7th, 2024, 12:07 PM

Originally Posted by jensenracing77
The "proper" way is to remove the shafts and drill and tap the oil feed hole and plug it off. With this, I can never add the shafts later if desired.
Why could you not just remove the plugs and put the shafts back in if you wanted to later ?

Is this the engine with the balance shaft assembly hanging off the bottom ?
Old January 7th, 2024, 12:35 PM

Originally Posted by BillK
Why could you not just remove the plugs and put the shafts back in if you wanted to later ?

Is this the engine with the balance shaft assembly hanging off the bottom ?