The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Looking for Advice

Search this Thread

Old May 14th, 2014, 08:58 AM

Looking for Advice

Hi guys this is my first time on here I have a 71 Olds 442 W-30 that I inherited from my father a few years back, has ran good for several years and we keep her up to date on maintenance. Last year I noticed a knocking sound coming from the engine. I am a little concerned about driving it and damaging it. Having trouble finding some one who will look at it for me. Any suggestions on problem areas I should check first.
Attached Images

Last edited by megb442; May 14th, 2014 at 09:00 AM. Reason: change heading
Old May 14th, 2014, 09:45 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by megb442
Hi guys this is my first time on here I have a 71 Olds 442 W-30 that I inherited from my father a few years back, has ran good for several years and we keep her up to date on maintenance. Last year I noticed a knocking sound coming from the engine. I am a little concerned about driving it and damaging it. Having trouble finding some one who will look at it for me. Any suggestions on problem areas I should check first.
Welcome. That's a valuable model. Unfortunately, a "knocking sound" is pretty difficult to diagnose over the interweb. It could range from something as easy to fix as a cracked flexplate to a spun bearing requiring an engine rebuild. Where are you located? That would help people suggest possible mechanics.
Old May 14th, 2014, 09:49 AM

Hi, i agree w/ joe....i had knocking as well....it was a cracked flexplate, which was an easy fix....then i spun 2 bearings.....had to rebuilt the motor
Old May 14th, 2014, 09:50 AM

Lower Delaware
Old May 14th, 2014, 09:53 AM

the knocking sound is more prevalent when you first start the car up and when it is ideling, as it runs it seems to get quieter.
Old May 14th, 2014, 09:58 AM