The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

I'm a Newb, Im Purchasing a 442 Project!

Search this Thread

Old November 11th, 2012, 10:41 PM
'70 442 Convertible

I'm a Newb, Im Purchasing a 442 Project!

Just thought I'd make my first post here on this forum. My name is Zach and I love 442's. I've been searching for awhile and I think I've found one that has great potential and a good base to work with. The car is a 1970 Olds 442 convertible numbers matching all original and runs. What can the experts here tell me about this VIN#344670E4? I currently have a deposit on the car, and this week I'm driving to see it. Based on the photos the seller has emailed me, the car looks pretty good and it runs. I don't see any rust and the interior looks great. I'm just a little hesitant because I'm a newbie when it comes to 442's but I know not to buy a rust bucket. It has original 455, 4speed muncie,12bolt 3.42 anitspin axle, original hurst shifter, white parchment interior, white power convert top, ps, pfdb, tictoctach, am radio, drivers remote mirror, and ssII rally wheels. Original paint was twilight blue, it was repainted rally green. It needs restoring, which I'm prepared to do. What do you guys think for $10k?
Old November 12th, 2012, 06:39 AM

Welcome - if you post your location, someone close might look at it for you, and confirm it's authenticity.
Old November 12th, 2012, 07:00 AM

Originally Posted by harlequin
It needs restoring, which I'm prepared to do. What do you guys think for $10k?