The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Hello All from Ohio

Search this Thread

Old January 23rd, 2023, 02:23 PM

Hello All from Ohio

Hello Everyone,

Long time lurker here, finally made an account. I have recently been given the opportunity to finally fix my father’s 1968 Cutlass, which he has owned since his time in college. The vehicle is in rough frame shape, and I will be searching for donors soon.

I have never worked on older cars before, my expertise is mostly with newer Hondas. I currently drive a motor-swapped 2020 Civic Hatchback with a Limited-Slip transmission. Makes a mean hot hatch. I did all the building and installation myself, but left the tuning to a dyno professional.

I hope to document my progress and be a contributing member!
Old January 23rd, 2023, 02:56 PM
Olds Fever

Welcome to the group... Good luck with your Cutlass project....
Old January 23rd, 2023, 05:21 PM

Welcome. What part of Ohio?
Old January 23rd, 2023, 05:32 PM

Welcome!
Old January 23rd, 2023, 06:19 PM
Running On Empty

Right out of the gate, the very first item you will need is an original paperback General Motors Oldsmobile Chassis Service Manual. For some odd reason, the 1968 (model year) Chassis Service Manual (CSM) is plagued w/ poor binding adhesive(s) - e.g. pages separate a little from the binding. None-the-less, w/ that said - you don't want a reproduction, a copy or a CD. You can look around on other sites & do your own research to find a decent copy; but, if you want to work on this car, the CSM is your bible.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/31403747496...e#readMoreDesc

Old January 23rd, 2023, 06:47 PM

Originally Posted by brotherGood
Welcome. What part of Ohio?
Cincinnati area. The Ohio salt consumes all.

Originally Posted by Vintage Chief