The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Buying my first Oldsmobile

Search this Thread

Old July 27th, 2015, 11:01 PM

Buying my first Oldsmobile

I've had tons of cars, when I say tons I mean it! My last "big" car was a 1996 Town Car Signature.

I was offered a 1983 Oldsmobile Regency 98 for a price I couldn't refuse ($300) and even though I'm super poor he even offered to do $150 now/150 in 2 weeks.

About me, I am a car guy, I used to be a mechanic but I stopped turning wrenches about 3 years ago and only do it to save money and because I don't trust people. I am in Central Pennsylvania (rust country). I am a fuel economy fanatic (irony) but I wouldn't mind having this olds as a once a week or just to the auto parts store cruiser. My current cars are 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage 3 cylnder 5 speed, 1991 Cherokee 4.0 4x4 5 speed. I grew up with my grandmother driving a 1977 Caprice, which then was replaced by my great grandmothers 1983 Delta 88 sedan, I spent A LOT of time in that car listening to the radio, driving it up and down the drive way. It was always a lot of fun. I've owned plenty of V8 vehicles and I do admit I love the way they sound.

About the car.

1983 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 2 door coupe, 70-90K miles I think (not sure) it has a th350 because the shifter pattern didn't include a circled D or a OD button (not positive on this), maybe oldsmobile had a non OD 3 speed?