The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

65 Drop Top

Search this Thread

Old August 17th, 2009, 03:35 PM

65 Drop Top

I'm a mechanic and just bought a 1965 Dynamic 88 convertible. It's alittle soft but thats OK, I got it cheap and my wife loves it. The speedometer cable just broke. This one seems hard to find (goes to the LF hub). Any help on where I could find one?
Old August 17th, 2009, 04:06 PM

Power top motor

The power top also goes down fine but doesnt have the nuts to go up. How do I check the fluid? I don't see a reservoir, is there a plug on the motor to fill?
Old August 17th, 2009, 05:39 PM

Welcome to CO

Try http://www.fusick.com/ for the cable. Sorry I can't help you with your top. someone will chime in
Old August 17th, 2009, 07:55 PM

I tried them, they didn't have it. Is it that rare?
Old August 17th, 2009, 08:38 PM
2 '66 98's

The reservoir is part of the motor assembly. There is either a metal screw in plug or a rubber plug on the end of the unit. You can tell if the fluid is low by looking at the lines to the cylinders as you are operating the system. Large air bubbles will tell the tale. Just don't overfill the system.

Where are you located?? I have a nice used speedo cable removed from a 45,000 mile car when Cruise Control was added. I am in New Jersey. Bruce
Old August 18th, 2009, 04:30 AM
Past Administrator

My '69 Delta had the same speedo cable set up, it had the cable and the hub cover but I know the covers are sometimes hard to find. Never thought about what I would do if the cable broke. Welcome to CO and hope you find one.
Old August 18th, 2009, 05:09 AM

My cable broke right in the middle, hub cover is OK. I had to cut it near the spindle so I could unscrew it. It felt like it had never been taken apart. I'm located in wisconsin.

Let me know what you want for the cable.

Whats the procedure to fill the motor to prevent overfilling?