78 olds delta 88 royale 350 rocket newbie

Search this Thread

Old October 22nd, 2017, 04:08 PM

78 olds delta 88 royale 350 rocket newbie HELP!?

This is my first time joining a car crew online also my first Oldsmobile 64k original miles. I've been driving it for about a month and have plans on pulling the engine out and doing some work in the spring but I started to get some lifter tick so I might be tearing it apart early. haven't had much time to plan but I definitely want more horsepower than came with the car cuz I need to be a little Burn Rubber not going to say something astronomical although I am new to building so any idea as to what type of parts and where to get them would be great. the wife said $3000 is my limit on the engine but it's a little flexible although the cheaper the better. I have some experience rebuilding Motors and have a pretty reasonable machine shop even some advice on transmission and Gear could be useful. I truly appreciate any and all advice

Last edited by Oz Azeez; October 22nd, 2017 at 04:48 PM.
Old October 23rd, 2017, 08:26 AM

Welcome to the site, we look forward to helping you with your project and seeing pics.

As far as parts go all of the body parts you'll have to fine NOS or OE from a salvage car. Performance parts for an Olds 350 are readily available as are mechanical parts for a 78 Delta 88 like shocks, brakes and steering components. The sky is pretty much the limit if you have enough cash.

IMHO, an engine refresh and Quadrajet tune are the way to go. Where do you live? If you are someplace like OK you might consider ditching the smog pump and catalytic converter.
Old October 24th, 2017, 07:37 PM