New to site/restoration, '64 Olds F85

Search this Thread

Old September 11th, 2020, 05:51 PM

New to site/restoration, '64 Olds F85

Thanks for any input. So I bought the car in 2008 and finally this July I found the funds to begin the restoration/upgrades. I'm a complete novice so I'm highly interested in opinions of Olds enthusiasts. Currently I've changed ,the stock 2 speed transmission to a 200-R4 or 4R keep seeing both seems to be the same trans. This version is the 2dr Coupe with the Buick V6. Not sure if the transmission change was the right thing to do but it's done the shop I brought to suggested it. So is the V6 worth keeping? What options do I have with the new transmission for a larger/more HP engine? Please advise. Advice is highly appreciated. Thank you all.
Old September 11th, 2020, 06:00 PM
Running On Empty

Welcome to CO. Bunch of '64 F85 enthusiasts here to assist. Nice car.
Old September 11th, 2020, 06:17 PM

Originally Posted by Vintage Chief
Welcome to CO. Bunch of '64 F85 enthusiasts here to assist. Nice car.
Thank you, looking forward to advice and know how from folks that are familiar with this vehicle. It will be put to good use and postings as I incorporate the changes. Feel free to suggest what you would do and if you believe the transmission change was the right thing to do.
Old September 11th, 2020, 06:23 PM

Welcome, yes there is a lot of early A-body members here. My thread has tons of pictures and information. Maybe give some ideas what you want to build. A 200-4R is a great transmission to start with, however it will not live with a Olds V-8 built with any power. I have a stock 67 400E Big Block Olds in my 64 F-85 with a modified 200-4R. Although the 400E( 65-67 442 motor) is rated stock at 350HP the trans was built to handle up to 500HP. I plan on adding more HP at some time!!. AND your car is a beloved "post car" these are getting hard to find especially an example like what you have, great find.