66-late early-67 and up GM POA and other AC info.

Search this Thread

Old September 14th, 2015, 10:55 AM
CH3NO2 LEARN IT BURN IT

66-late early-67 and up GM POA and other AC info.

Dan, Pat, Joe, Eric etc......If this post doesn't belong here please move it maybe to its own POA valve adjustment sticky. If you even think its worthy? Feel free to edit this.

Thought this would be a good Sticky? I see the POA Sticky on the general page is for 72 only but this one covers late 66 to late 73. Not sure after mid to late 73. Id assume anything with an R12 system using a POA wanting to convert to 134a. It applies to most GM vehicles from about 66-67 and up with a POA valve system not an STV system (suction throttle valve) found on 66-67 and earlier cars. Much of this excerpt is taken from "Corvette forum dot com" a few years ago so the pricing is likely obsolete by now.

This is not the bible on AC and I'm not an expert but do have advanced automotive AC knowledge, especially the old school stuff. I have often called the guys from either classic or vintage auto air for help. Both are great and willing to freely give out knowledge. Now they both can retro fit an old non working POA with a 134a orifice kit using the original POA body for those who dont want to install the retro fit valve and retain the OEM look. They will also calibrate a R12 POA to 134a for you verses guessing. I have performed the adjustment noted below in a good system with restored hoses, dryer, o-rings, correct oil etc.... It works great. Steve

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Retrofitting to R134A