General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

chasis to body alignment

Search this Thread

Old September 11th, 2012, 11:27 AM

chasis to body alignment

ok so I am getting ready to put the body back on the frame ( this weekend coming up) I know it should be fairly straight forward but I have read of folks using alignment pins ( like 1/2 inch bar stock) in holes in the frame that correspond to holes in the body. Has anyone done this? I assume I do not torque the body all the way down, or torque them down and loosen a little when I fit the fenders and hood in case any slight alignment issues arise?

I also assume you just measure side to side and front to back and diagonally to make sure the body is square on the frame anything I am forgetting? I have only taken one body off the frame and this is my first time putting it back so be gentle

thanks in advance fellas.
Old September 13th, 2012, 11:59 AM

Eddie, surprised there was no input here. So here goes.