General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Whats your favorite carb?

Search this Thread

Old May 8th, 2010, 09:26 AM

Whats your favorite carb?

Whats your favorite brand?
How would you rank others?

I have a holley, edelbrock, and a q-jet.
The holley has a leak, and the q-jet needs to be redone.

The edelbrock is just about brand new. Havent used it yet but Im hoping it was a good purchase as I plan on using it once the motor is done.
Old May 8th, 2010, 09:36 AM

You'll get lots of opinions on this issue. I prefer the Holly avenger series and have a 770 cfm on my built 455. I have been a Holly fan since I started playing with cars in the early 60's.
Old May 8th, 2010, 09:38 AM

Q-jet
Weber
Solex
Holley

Old May 8th, 2010, 09:42 AM

You can't beat a good working Q-Jet.
For the after market Holley street avenger.
Old May 8th, 2010, 09:43 AM
Seasoned beater pilot.

Edelbrocks are slower, but pretty easy to work on.

Qjets are good, but a pain to work on. The throttle shafts always wear out and leak.

Holleys are the easiest to work on and tune, but will ruin any chance of decent fuel economy.

Happy medium is a thermoquad. Carter components for tuning, Qjet style baseplate bores, and 800+cfm.
Old May 8th, 2010, 10:32 AM
One of None W-31

Edelbrocks are faster on my car than anything I've ever used, and are very easy to work on (which is never necessary). Tried Holley...no thanks pain in the butt. Q-Jet works alright when and if it's working..so have been using Edelbrock for many years, for best performance and reliability.
Old May 8th, 2010, 11:13 AM