General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Thornton stainless shorty headers on 1972 455 automatic Cutlass 442

Search this Thread

Old September 26th, 2020, 12:15 PM

Thornton stainless shorty headers on 1972 455 automatic Cutlass 442

Hi:

Anyone here install Thornton stainless shorty headers on 1972 455 with 400 TH automatic in a Cutlass 442? I have regular long tube headers but want to swith to the shorty headers. I have a full 2 1/4 inch FloMaster dual exhaust and just need the pipes for bith sides from the shorty's to the FloMaster pipes. I guess I need what's called down pipes? Any one know the best place to get these pipes? How tough is it to get the shorty's installed. Am I going to need the motor mounts undone and an hoist of some type?

Pic's below.

Old September 26th, 2020, 12:35 PM

You'll need an exhaust shop to bend up the new bits for you. You can't buy something like that off the shelf. *supposedly* the thortons exit at the same spot as the stock manifolds, so you could buy a stock fitting kit, try to cut it up to match what you have. But that would cost far more and be way more difficult than going to an exhaust shop. I think those thortons have 2.5" exit, but stock fitting pipes are 2.25" (or 2"!). Seriously, any exhaust shop could whip up those little connecting pieces and get them installed in less than half an hour.

Installing the thortons will be easier than removing the full length headers. The difficulty of removing those headers just depends on what they are. I assume you haven't done it on this car? Usually they need to come out the bottom, so need to lift the car pretty high in the air. I end up getting the headers pretty low, then pulling the collector towards the middle of the car. That gets the flange to turn and fall out.