General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Poor Quality of Restoration Parts

Search this Thread

Old May 11th, 2014, 04:45 PM

Poor Quality of Restoration Parts

I have been building streetrods for 40+ years and decided to restore one of my favorite muscle cars, the 67 442. I have discovered that all of the vendors who sell restoration their quality of the parts suck. I have purchased everything from pash pads and glove box door from The Parts Place to emblems from OPGI and countless other parts from most of the Oldsmobile vendors. Nothing fits, the wrong shape, missing tapped holes, things in wrong locations, the list goes on and on. I made the assumption with todays technology we could get better quality parts then this. I can't wait to complete my beloved 442 and get back to hot rods. I have friends who have found the same problems with their projects no matter what make or model.
Sorry about the rant but wanted to vent and see what experiences everyone else has had with the Oldsmobile vendors.
Old May 11th, 2014, 05:12 PM

True, that
largely because nobody cares enough to make sure the first piece is right, and check the occasional one from subsequent lots. When you are not building a car a minute, I guess they figure you can modify every part as you install it.

I learned to TEST FIT EVERYTHING for sure.

It's not like if you send crap back they will fix it- they will just send another. Usually. Some care more than others. Some vendors immediately try to blame YOU- and sometimes the get busted in that lying antic. Heh. Bubes.

I will say I have great luck with FUSICK'S parts, and one set of plug wires from ??? actually fit PERFECTLY with no modifications at all.
Old May 11th, 2014, 05:28 PM
Majored in rear tire demo