General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Pollution police?

Search this Thread

Old January 16th, 2012, 08:57 PM
Sammy70 455 Supreme

Pollution police?

So every time I take my classic out for a tour, will I be pulled off the road, my car taken and I will have to sell everything I own to pay the fines?

How does all this affect us with older cars?
Old January 16th, 2012, 09:10 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by sammy
So every time I take my classic out for a tour, will I be pulled off the road, my car taken and I will have to sell everything I own to pay the fines?

Ok it works like this. I'm a police officer and I pull you over. I make you get in the back seat of my cruiser. You get to watch me do burnouts with your car as I check it for roadworthiness. After the smoke has cleared I come back and let you out. My only comments? Nice car sir, have a nice day!

Older cars are generally exempt from the pollution laws because they met pollution requirements of the era they were built. On the other hand if you're driving down the highway with the tailpipe smoking worse than a ham sausage cooker? Expect to be pulled over and either get a fixit order, or a traffic summons for faulty equipment. That would apply to newer cars too BTW.
Old January 16th, 2012, 09:27 PM

Whew!
Old January 16th, 2012, 09:35 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Is this a serious question?

- Eric
Old January 16th, 2012, 09:39 PM
1974 DELTA 88

This has never crossed my mind. Then again, where I live, we don't even have emissions testing.

I'd hope such a thing (pollution police) doesn't exist anyplace. Unless like Allan said, you are driving around with oil smoke or massive black soot clouds billowing out the exhaust.
Old January 16th, 2012, 10:42 PM