General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Is this legal?

Search this Thread

Old February 13th, 2013, 06:33 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Is this legal?

I was under the impression that cars were supposed to die with the cowl tags they were born with still attached. Is this just a 'unique way' of getting around that? The contradicting info between 67 and 69 leads me to believe this is ongoing with an oversight to change all the ad details. The cowl is obviously 69, but isn't that a Chev cowl tag from a 69 El Camino (build plant Baltimore - not an Olds plant) being flogged as an Cutlass?
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/ws/eBayISAPI....#ht_500wt_1271
Old February 13th, 2013, 06:37 PM
morgan

I dont see a thing wrong with that. LoL
Old February 13th, 2013, 06:41 PM

I've had two cutlasses with body tags that did not match the vin. When titling the car the vin is what is most important. But I will add a disclaimer, I am not an expert.

And, to buy or sell a trim tag does sound like someone is up to something a little dishonest, to say the least. It's like they are intending to pass a car off as original when it is a tribute or clone. Just my opinion.
Old February 13th, 2013, 06:55 PM
morgan

Originally Posted by Olds442redberet
I've had two cutlasses with body tags that did not match the vin. When titling the car the vin is what is most important. But I will add a disclaimer, I am not an expert.

And, to buy or sell a trim tag does sound like someone is up to something a little dishonest, to say the least. It's like they are intending to pass a car off as original when it is a tribute or clone. Just my opinion.
Ok I can't help myself with this... There is nothing wrong with adding an entire car around a cowl tag... Nothong wrong I say buyer beware
Old February 13th, 2013, 07:03 PM
Oldsdruid

I don't know if selling or swapping body plates is illegal per se, but it is ethically questionable.