General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

howdy!

Search this Thread

Old April 24th, 2008, 04:33 PM

howdy!

Hello to all--

Today, I find myself in unchartered waters. I was perusing eBay for, well, that's a good question...haha..no, I was looking for parts for my '68 LeMans and got bored when I came across this car.... Next thing I know, I'm hitting the 'buy it now' button. So I am now a proud, first-time owner of a 1968 Oldsmobile ("Youngmobile"--I DO know the commercials!) 442. It is red with a black vinyl top (should have a vinyl top--have to put it on), 4-speed, number matching block and transmission. It's not perfect, but I think it was a good deal and a wise-move in terms of now selling the LeMans for it. Anyway, I'll post pics when i get it and make it presentable.

I guess I had a couple of cursory questions as I'm new to Oldsmobile-land. I'm sure I will come up with some of these answers, but I thought it'd be good to ask as a starting point:

1) what is the best source for general OEM or OEM-style replacement parts? For example, Pontiac has Performance Years.

2) As far as interior parts go, how many are interchangeable with say, a Chevelle or a GTO/LeMans?

3) How do you find the 442 to compare with the GTO, GS or Chevelle? I've always admired all of the GM muscle, so I'm down with all. Just wondering from maybe a performance standpoint.

4) Is there a service like PHS (Pontiac Historical Society) that can provide all info on your vehicle including the build sheet and window sticker for Oldsmobiles? If not, and you can't find the build sheet in the car, what do you do? Just wing it?

Well, I think that's all I have for now. Although some of these are obviously 442 specific, I'm mainly concerned about the ease of finding parts for a rebuild which all you Oldsmobile guys should know. Performance Years was really an invaluable resource to have for finding parts easily.

See you on the boards!

Tom