General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

headers install first time

Search this Thread

Old April 21st, 2014, 07:34 PM

headers install first time

So its my first time installing headers. I bought some flowtech headers from oreilly auto parts so im not even sure if there going to fit. With some elbow grease i was able to get the manifolds out. do i have to pull the engine entirely to get the manifold in or did i get the wrong headers?
Old April 21st, 2014, 08:17 PM

What part # are the headers and what are they going on? Are you putting them in from the bottom? Did you remove the oil filter and adapter on the pass side and the starter on the drivers?
Old April 21st, 2014, 08:33 PM
Administrator

As the previous poster said they need to go in from the bottom. You don't have to remove the engine, just lift it a bit. Jack the front of the car as high as you can get it and support the frame just behind the front tires with jack stands.
Old April 21st, 2014, 08:46 PM

It's on a 72 cutlass s with a bone stock 350. The only thing I removed were some lines that go from the radiator to the trans. The part number is FLT 11150
Old April 22nd, 2014, 04:14 AM

You have the correct headers. The oil filter and adapter will need to come off. No big deal 3 bolts and a new gasket. On the drivers side the starter will have to come off.
Old April 22nd, 2014, 05:00 AM

Exhaust