General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Ford shifting all U.S. small-car production to Mexico

Search this Thread

Old September 15th, 2016, 11:55 AM

Ford shifting all U.S. small-car production to Mexico

Not good.

http://www.freep.com/story/money/car...xico/90355146/
Old September 15th, 2016, 12:43 PM
344879M363895

I think the only good out of it was that they said they wouldn't be laying off any US workers because they would be starting on the new product lines. But still...why not simply build another US factory? Basically they'll point to Chrysler for doing it first.
Old September 15th, 2016, 01:16 PM
pavemobile

On average, the U.S. labor rates are very high; not only in auto manufacturing but across the board. After my military career I worked as a quality inspector in an FAA certificated aftermarket repair division for one of the major turbine engine manufacturers then moved into Human Resources (I still ask myself why). I spent many, many hours in process improvement meetings trying to cut repair times and costs in general down for competitive contract negotiations with customers out there. You might ask the same questions we all did, "where is all the money going...sure wasn't in my paycheck." Carrier, among others have shifted manufacturing out of the CONUS for labor rate and tax reasons. The fix has to begin D.C. for things to improve; something HAS to change.
Old September 15th, 2016, 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by 70-442-W30
I think the only good out of it was that they said they wouldn't be laying off any US workers because they would be starting on the new product lines.
I saw this, so apparently, for the moment, no jobs will be lost. But it still certainly sends the wrong message. Right now it's small cars. What happens when they next move large car or SUV or truck production to Mexico? Imagine something as American as a Ford F-150 being made in Monterrey or Guadalajara. Ugh!