General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Any lawyers here?

Search this Thread

Old June 21st, 2016, 04:40 PM
W30

Any lawyers here?

Have an issue, that ive never had.
Im a HVAC contractor.
I have a contract through a property manager, that was getting quotes for his client. The contract was awarded to me, he singed it, the check came from the owner ( i never knew about him being a middle man).

Me and 2 other HVAC contractors met at the same time ( wired). We all gave quotes on " adding a/c on to the existing system". After a discussion on options and cost's. He chose the cheapest option.

I did the job, and the owner of the home is a "lawyer" and expected the system to be in the attic ( existing system in the basement). Demands that the system be installed in the attic at no cost, says the contract and his "guy" dosnt bear any weight in the court and he will just sue me, unless the gas HVAC system is located in the attic.

Were he has me, he called a no a/c call in over the weekend (system worked fine) he put rugs/ furniture over the vents. My HVAC service guy told him that the system just should be in the attic because of his furniture lay-out ( he didnt even know we did this system/ complaints)..

I offered to credit labor off all we did, and him pay for what he ultimately now wants ( system in the attic....cold climate..)He demands we do the job in the attic at no cost....
I want to take him to court because i have the other bidders quote also. Also, because i know this is his fault and hes making it mine..
Thoughts? Thanks.
Old June 21st, 2016, 04:52 PM

Your lawyer would have a very good time watching him answer the part about how he call in a no-AC problem which he caused by blocking the air passages.

I am sure there is more to the story, and I can't even make sense of what is here now, but, as a layman, I would love to be on that jury.

Remind him that countersuits are also easy to file.
Old June 21st, 2016, 04:58 PM