lost my cruise?

Search this Thread

Old April 23rd, 2009, 10:35 PM

Unhappy lost my cruise?

newbie here. my question is my 87 cutlass supreme's cruise worked great untill the 307 dropped a valve and munched the motor. so installed a 350 from a 77 cutlass. i used the 77 distributer and set aside the computer componets. now i've lost my cruise control. none of my local mechanics can tell me why. they say the computer doesn't control the cruise. any ideas? thanks in advance for any help.
Old April 24th, 2009, 02:16 AM

Smile Cruisin'

The computer doesn't control the cruise, did you check to see if you have engine vacuum to the servo?? and the throttle linkage?? and if the front of the sevo has an electric plug on it it could be that it went to lunch without you!!
Old April 24th, 2009, 03:07 AM
Registered

I'm not familiar with those but I looked at Auto Zone and it has a cruise control module/amplifier, cruise switch, fuse, stoplight switch and a vacuum reservoir available, somewhere to start. What YS said otherwise, went to lunch?
Is your cruise running? better go catch it before it gets away.
Old April 24th, 2009, 05:18 AM

I am assuming it worked well soon before the engine swap...

I cannot remember if the cruise uses a separate speed sensor or the one the computer uses. I will try to remember to look in my chassis manual when I get home. I am thinking they are independent.
Is the cruise module under the dash still there? (The one that the turn signal mounted switches plug into?)
Check the things already mentioned like vac lines and brake release vac switch and I will get back with ya later...

The good thing is that the 350 was a very good replacement for that 307 - it needed to happen anyway...

Last edited by Lady72nRob71; April 24th, 2009 at 05:21 AM.
Old April 24th, 2009, 05:23 AM

For 84 and up you'll need to make sure you still have the servo, vacuum reservoir, cruise computer module, vehicle speed sensor, and of course the switches on the stalk.