Difficult to start after engine is hot.

Search this Thread

Old October 10th, 2007, 05:15 PM

Difficult to start after engine is hot.

Ok...you will have to forgive me, I have had this car many years but I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination and I could use some troubleshooting advise.

I recently had this '72 Cutlass tuned up. New plugs, ignition wires, condenser, rotor, distributor cap. Since then, it runs great but if I drive it a few miles, until the engine is up to temp, and then shut it off, I have a heck of a time getting it restarted. If I let it sit for 45 minutes to an hour or so, it will start up fine.

Discussion at work by the resident car people suggests that the coil may be the problem. That it changes or breaks down with increase in temperature.

What say you? Does this sound right? Any other ideas?

Thanks
Old October 10th, 2007, 05:27 PM
dar83501

It sounds like a camshaft position sensor or crank angle sensor that's getting heat soaked and shutting the car off to me, but that car is probably too old for either of those sensors to be on it in the first place. I would suggest running a fuel pressure test to determine if it has anything to do with your fuel pump.

I have a '91 that started doing the exact same thing, it would run till it heated up, then it won't turn over for an hour or two until it cools. It wasn't the fuel pump, I changed the alternator, fuel filter, battery, coil, electronic ignition module, the camshaft position sensor, and the only things left are the computer and crank angle sensor..I'm going to replace the sensor soon as there's room in the shop so I can sell the car.

If the fuel pressure test comes up okay (be sure to test while the car is running, when you turn the key off, and start the car again), then I would think it's most likely electrical.

Also, when it refuses to start, does it try to turn over but there is no spark, or is it just a dead click?

Old October 10th, 2007, 06:05 PM