CONVERTIBLE TOP MOTOR ISSUES (join the club, lol) - 71 Cutlass

Old October 11th, 2011, 07:20 AM

CONVERTIBLE TOP MOTOR ISSUES (join the club, lol) - 71 Cutlass

hey guys, i really need your help. my top motor is not working. this issue occurred two wknds ago so i took the car to a restoration shop to have motor checked out this past friday.

first off, he plugs some wires to a used motor to show me that it created a spark. then he ran the same wires to my motor, and there was no spark. he claims that is a sign that my top motor is going bad??? who am i to say he's wrong, i'm no expert...

so, he attempts to sell me a used top motor w/ installation for $250. After seeing the expression on my face, he immediately drops the price to $200. There was no way I would pay that kind of money for a used, unwarrented motor when I buy a new one for $300.

well, i decided to hold off on the motor and asked him to check my battery under the hood. after playing around with the battery and some other thing (looks like a small plastic container), to my surprise the top started working again. so i decided to test it by raising the top. it worked for a moment, but stopped again. i'm very confused at this point. not sure if i really need a new motor now.

could someone please provide me with some test i can run to maybe troubleshoot the problem...when the top stops working, there is absolutely no sound coming from the motor. also, i notice a couple weeks ago that the tops was going up and down alot slower than usual.

i really really appreciate any and all help/suggestions.

THANKS!!!
Old October 11th, 2011, 08:30 AM

Does your pump motor consistently work in both directions if jumpered directly to power? If so, I would check grounds and the top switch. With corroded ground or switch contacts his unloaded motor may run but yours may not with the top attached pulling more amps.
Old October 11th, 2011, 12:43 PM