1969 Cutlass S Reverse Lights not working

Search this Thread

Old November 26th, 2017, 10:22 AM

1969 Cutlass S Reverse Lights not working

Hi,

All of a sudden my reverse lights stopped working yet all my turn signals and other lights work perfect. Forgive me as I'm not very good with electrical and I've combed all the threads and this is what I've done based upon what I've read. Wondering whether the Neutral Safety Switch is bad on the column or something else is going on. Thank you very much for any assistance.

1. Pulled the green wire connectors off the neutral safety switch and jumped the 2 green connectors with the key in the engine run position and the car in park (engine off)...reverse lights came on so I guess this shows that power is getting to the bulbs and grounds are good?

2. Put the green connectors back on the NSS and put the key back in the run position with the car in Park (engine off)...took voltage readings and the green/white wire had 11.58v and the light green wire had nothing showing....should both connectors show 12V?

3. Should I be taking voltage readings of the green connectors NOT jumped while OFF the NSS switch with the key in the run position? If so what should I be looking for in terms of readings.

Last edited by atkinsom; November 26th, 2017 at 11:29 AM.
Old November 26th, 2017, 01:36 PM

It could be a simple NSS adjustment. Put it in reverse and try grabbing the steering column collar and move it slightly back and forth to see if the reverese lights come on. Or see if they come on briefly as you shift from park through reverse to neutral.
Old November 26th, 2017, 02:46 PM