Mint 1976 Delta 88 - What to do?

Search this Thread

Old June 25th, 2015, 09:15 PM

Mint 1976 Delta 88 - What to do?

My grandfather purchased a 1976 Oldsmobile Delta 88 in 1982 with 9,000 miles on it. He drove the car for some years as a daily driver and then he decided to baby it. He would keep it out of rain and snow for 30+ years, and just recently he gave it to me. At only 80,000 miles the car is in amazing condition, not a spot of rust anywhere. (other than the undercarriage) It has the 350 engine & the 3 speed transmission, right now the power it's putting out is pathetic, foot to the floor it takes ages to hit 60MPH. Would it be worth my time and money to try to make this a quicker car? Or is the 350 engine a limiting factor? I am a poor college student on summer break and I'd like to cheaply improve the performance. I do not have the time or money to be able to completely rebuild the engine or swap a new one in, I just want to make it more fun to drive. Tomorrow I will be giving the car a thorough cleaning and I will post pictures to this post.
Thanks
Old June 25th, 2015, 09:35 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, it was nice of your grandfather to give you his car. Have you checked the catalytic converter. They were known to clog and the engine could not breath. It would make noise like its putting out all kind of power but not go anywhere fast. The next step would be to ask him if he ever changed the timing chain the last time it was tuned up.
Old June 25th, 2015, 09:43 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by Ronoman
It has the 350 engine & the 3 speed transmission, right now the power it's putting out is pathetic, foot to the floor it takes ages to hit 60MPH.