1985 Delta 88 spitting up a few drops of coolant

Search this Thread

Old June 3rd, 2008, 10:59 AM

1985 Delta 88 spitting up a few drops of coolant

I bought a super nice '85 88 a few months ago. Lately, when I've taken it for a run, then return it to the garage, I'll notice a very small puddle of anti-freeze on the floor the next day. This has happened 5 or 6 times now. It's a 307 w/ 42K original miles. I've looked at the water pump (I'm NOT a mechanic), and I'm pretty certain its not the culprit. The location of the puddle is closest to being underneath the overflow reservoir. Could it be that the oil change guy overfilled it?? Are these cars known overheaters? This is the first 307 I've owned. If it needed a thermostat, what would be a potential sign? Unfortunately, I don't have the rally gauge package, so I can't monitor the engine temp while driving.
Old June 3rd, 2008, 11:27 AM

This is it
88side2-1.jpg

88seat.jpg
88engine.jpg
Old June 3rd, 2008, 12:56 PM

Man, that sure is a sharp looking Delta - you could eat off that motor!
That should also make it easy to find the leak. If the reservoir is overflowing, it would be obvious. It is supposed to hold some coolant - make sure the hoses going to it and the radiator have no splits and clamps are secure. Getting under it with a good flashlight, you should be able to find the source. The reservoir ~could~ have a crack in it, too.

The 307 is not a known overheater, but it can happen I suppose. An infrared thermometer would be your best friend here - mcmelectronics.com sells them. I got one to verify all my cars' gauges - very accurate.
I have a 307 in my 86 and it leaks coolant from the intake manifold gasket, a more known 307 issue.

Hope you find the source of the leak.

Again, SHARP car!!
Old June 3rd, 2008, 01:03 PM