Simplest Answer is Usually the Right Answer

Search this Thread

Old July 10th, 2014, 09:20 AM

I have been a hobbyist, working on my own cars since I was a teenager in the 60s. I was taught early on to check the basics first and confirm they are correct, because most problems are simple, not complex. I reaffirmed that today.

My Cutlass started running a bit warmer the past couple weeks. Not serious, but a little warmer. Yesterday, When I started it, it immediately went to fast idle and then died. Never does that! Driving it, the temperature stayed at 200, and wanted to go to 210-215. Starting it hot, it would die. I had to crank it longer with the carb 1/2 open and keep the car idling at 2000-2500 for 15 or 20 seconds or it would stall.

I took the air cleaner off today, and just as I suspected, the carb bolts were only finger tight. I re-torqued them and also noticed the hot idle tube that connects to the rear of the air horn by the secondaries had come off. Hello, vacuum leak.

Anyway, it was a simple fix. I just drove the car and it again started perfectly, idled fine and operated at 180-185.

Lesser experienced guys should learn the lesson to check the basics first, before jumping into assuming it is more complicated.
Old July 10th, 2014, 10:35 AM
Administrator

Amen
Old July 10th, 2014, 04:05 PM

As I have gotten older, I find myself always thinking that if something is wrong, it is never something easy. I guess when I was younger it was more fun to go over the basic and see if you can find the problem. Many times it is simple fix.
Old July 10th, 2014, 04:31 PM

Originally Posted by brown7373
Not sure how applicable it is overall to auto repair, but the general principle is also known as Occam's Razor.

http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/physic...ral/occam.html
Old July 10th, 2014, 05:16 PM

Originally Posted by jaunty75
Not sure how applicable it is overall to auto repair, but the general principle is also known as Occam's Razor.