Care and Appearance Washing, waxing, paint care products, etc.

Polishing paint ideas?

Search this Thread

Old February 3rd, 2010, 06:59 AM

Polishing paint ideas?

SO--Now that I got her up and running, I wanna try to make it nice again! I'm good at buffing clear coat cars, but not sure how to go about waxing this, as the original paint is on it, with no clearcoat. and what do you guys use to paint the chrome plastic trim? I have some that's chipping off.

Any pointers help! I steam cleaned the carpet, and bought some interior paint, i'll try it out behind the seats later & make sure it matches, so it's really down to touching up the trim on the car, and polish the exterior paint. It was already maintained well so it doesn't need alot, just some stuff i've never done before and don't feel like pulling paint off the car
Old February 3rd, 2010, 08:43 AM

I use normal Turtle Wax to wax my car. If you want to use a sepcialty polishing or buffing compound then I'm sure someone will have a good suggestion.
Old February 3rd, 2010, 09:43 AM

Hey,if you can buff clearcoat,you can handle factory paint as well.Go slowly,because your acually removing color from the car.Especialy metallic paint,if you bear down hard,or get the paint hot ,it can cause streaking or dark and lite spots.Just go slow and be especialy careful on the edges.As far as wax goes,i like carnuba,it will bead water longer.Its harder to rub on and off,so do small areas at a time.Get out the elbow grease!!Hope this helps,BO
Old February 3rd, 2010, 11:42 AM
Oldsdruid

If you have a DA polisher it will make life much easier. I like Meguiar's products because they are reasonably easy to apply and it's an easy system to use- the lower the number, the more aggressive cut; higher the number the finer the cut and polish. Other manufacturers also make good products, I'm just not as familiar with their systems.