Speedmaster Bare head castings

Search this Thread

Old January 14th, 2020, 07:27 AM

Speedmaster Bare head castings

What are the quality of these from someone who has used them?
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/s...ake/oldsmobile
Old January 14th, 2020, 08:09 AM
Beer Connoisseur

The quality of the casting is good, the hardware they supply is crappy. You can buy them bare and have somebody knowledgable set them up, or just buy them set-up from Bernard Mondello, or CutlassEFI who is a member here. I've been running them for 5-6 years and I have put about 30k miles on the engine without any issues.

Here is a thread to my build with dyne sheet. 463 procomp heads

Last edited by 70cutty; January 14th, 2020 at 08:54 AM.
Old January 14th, 2020, 08:17 AM

Originally Posted by 70cutty
The quality the casting is good, the hardware they supply is crappy. You can buy them bare and have somebody knowledgable set them up, or just buy them set-up from Bernard Mondello, or CutlassEFI who is a member here. I've been running them for 5-6 years and I have put about 30k miles on the engine without any issues.

Thanks. I would buy the bare ones anyhow. I have a friend locally who can set them up properly.
Old January 14th, 2020, 11:40 AM

Are these castings compatible with a mechanical fuel pump?
Old January 14th, 2020, 12:02 PM

Originally Posted by ajr2820
Are these castings compatible with a mechanical fuel pump?
Yes but it’ll be tight. Your cylinder head guy will also need to be good with a grinder as well, as the entryway of the bare castings is not great.
Old January 14th, 2020, 06:36 PM

The quality of the casting is good, the hardware they supply is crappy. You can buy them bare and have somebody knowledgable set them up, or just buy them set-up from Bernard Mondello, or CutlassEFI who is a member here. I've been running them for 5-6 years and I have put about 30k miles on the engine without any issues.