Question about pump gas with C heads?

Search this Thread

Old April 24th, 2007, 06:30 AM

Question about pump gas with C heads?

I just read some where that "C" head were used with leaded gas only? I have "C" heads, is there an issue if I'm running regular unleaded pump gas? Also with the gas prices the way there are am I going to see or feel the difference between 93 and 87 octane, cause I'd rather not spend the extra money if there is no real benefit?
Old April 24th, 2007, 09:05 AM
Freedom Fighter

I have a 67' Delta 88 convertible, 425ci with 'c' heads (10.5 to 1 comp). I run the hi-octane along with a lead additive. My latest mpg is 9.5 (all around mpg) and I don't get any 'octane ping'. I'm no rocket scientist (or engineer) but something is better than nothing.

My take on the gas prices? I like the ride, so I pay the price (currently $3.20 gl here in Spokane).

Just a few thoughts.

FRDMFTR
Old April 24th, 2007, 03:38 PM

I'm soon to be running a 68 Delmont motor in My 85 Delta with 5 heads. This also requires lead.

Go to the local auto parts store and buy a bottle of additive, but you gotta use it every tank
Old April 25th, 2007, 04:33 AM
Past Administrator

When I rebuilt the C heads on my 455 I added added hardened valve seat inserts on the exhaust valve locations before grinding them down to match the new valves because of what you are asking about. I am told it is true that since these heads were manufactured before the common use of unleaded fuel the best bet is to do that to prolong valve seat life. I understand that the heads built after unleaded fuel was commonly used have hardened areas around the exhaust valve seats. So, if you have original C heads or any other of the older ones for that matter, then it is safest to use a lead lubricant additive or suppliment. Although, I have also read that the newer fuels have lots of additives in them now for that purpose. I think I would rather be safe than sorry though.
Old April 25th, 2007, 08:57 AM