Octane, Timing, and Ex. Value recession

Search this Thread

Old June 3rd, 2013, 09:00 AM

Octane, Timing, and Ex. Value recession

Friends, Ive been reading the engine thread for a while now and I'm surprised that there's so little talk about available fuel(octane) , timing, exhaust value seat recession (for the pre-71 cars out there) and value adjustment? I just purchased a 65 442 with 92,000 miles and am thinking about what needs to be done about these issues. I read the other day of members running as much as 36+ degrees total? I'm a 30yr marine mechanic, we didn't deal with vacuum advance but, I think I understand how it works, but again recently some one mentioned 50 degrees with vacuum? I've checked and the original timing spec. is 7.5 BTDC and I'm good with a distributor putting in a max of about 24 degrees=32.5 total and vacuum pulls in what?
Has anyone suffered value recession to the point where it effected value adjustment. I know there isn't any way to adjust the values on a 400 (shim the pedestals, or tip the values) ?
I'm going to build the engine, because I'll have to do exhaust seats and larger ex. values at a minimum, I'm thinking new Edelbrock heads instead of the work on the originals. I want to build a torque monster for the street, but it needs to run on 93octane or less God only knows what we'll be able to get in 10 years. I know the the Olds engine is detonation resistant but how much compression and how much advance before trouble begins? Any Input?
Old June 3rd, 2013, 11:25 AM

With iron heads, compression over 10:1 can detonate easily. Good spark control is the key, though. For me, changing to an MSD 6AL-2 and doing the curve in the box helped tremendously.
Vacuum cans are widely different, can pull anywhere from 10 to 20 degrees. Aftermarket ones are adjustable. Vacuum is critical for cruise efficiency, not terribly important otherwise unless your build requires it at idle (some do...).