Adjusting Timing

Search this Thread

Old March 24th, 2015, 10:26 AM

Adjusting Timing

Hello Everyone,

It's the time of year that I'm going to be getting the car out and on the road again. Last season I ended on a sour note. Misfiring at high RPMs, and a lousy carb that I ended up sending back to Summit.

However, I have the bug again to try and get the car running right and back on the road. I am currently purchasing a new carb, and will want to get that high RPM misfire figured out.

At about 3 - 3.5 thousand RPM and above I start to get bad misfiring. I'm pretty confident after the help from people on this forum and asking around that this is due to bad timing.

Does anyone on here have a good write-up on how to go about adjusting timing? This is something I've never done before, but would like to fix myself. My uncle had sent the initial timing when he helped my put the motor together. However, he is in Florida until May!

Thank You!

The car is a 68 442, 400G block. Thanks!
Old March 24th, 2015, 02:53 PM

I wonder if the misfiring (or at least some of it) was due to this lousy carb?

You may have some other issues in the ignition. When was the last time the eginie had a full tune-up (points, plugs, cap, rotor, wires)?

As for timing, what type of distributor do you have? If it's the original distributor, then all you should need to do is set the initial timing to the factory spec.

This brings up the topic if tools. Do you have a timing light? And if it's a points style distributor, do you have a dwell meter?
Old March 24th, 2015, 09:35 PM

At 3,000-3,500 is when your engine should be making max torque which is when you make max cylinder pressure and in turn that's when you need max spark. I'm pretty sure your not getting very good spark.

So like LoganMiller68 said, let's start with what kind of distributor do you have?

Ray
Old March 25th, 2015, 02:01 AM
'87 Delta 88 Royale