Could do ith a bit of help re: a 1966 Olds 442 please

Search this Thread

Old November 17th, 2008, 08:39 AM

Could do ith a bit of help re: a 1966 Olds 442 please

Hi there!

Hopefully I'm about to become the owner of a 1966 Oldsmobile 442.

The car I'm looking at looks to be a good example but the seller says it has a 455 engine in it which he openly admits is not the original engine.

The problem is it looks like the original to me. It is painted bronze and looks the same (only from an external visual look and I have very little experience in this so please forgive me if I'm obviously wrong)!

Here is a pic of the engine if that helps..

If it isn't the original engine wouldit hurt the value too much to think about buying it in your opinions? It does only have the two speed auto which probably won't get the best out of the 455..

Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
engine.jpg (105.3 KB, 63 views)
Old November 17th, 2008, 08:51 AM

By looking at the front of the engine just above the water pump facing up, you will see a series of numbers followed by a letter. This is the ID of the engine and if you post that number someone here will be able to tell you what the engine is. Also, there is a letter code near the forward exhaust port on the heads which will ID them too. The 66' 442 should have had a 400 in it, but if the 455 is an early one, it won't kill the value of the car but it would be about 25%- 30% less valuable than if it had the original engine. 66s are fairly uncommon so it will appreciate still. Good luck!
Old November 17th, 2008, 09:16 AM
"me somebody" site member