'71 Cutlass Supreme in need of Transmission

Search this Thread

Old January 23rd, 2007, 09:06 AM

'71 Cutlass Supreme in need of Transmission

Hey guys I just bought a cutlass supreme, but it has some work to be done on it. I need a carberator, and a Transmission. It is a 350 engine. I found that the carberator isn't too hard to find i've seen it a few places, but i can't seem to find the transmission anywhere. Does anyone know a reliable site that would have a transmission for this 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass supreme please? I've been looking everywhere and I haven't been able to find it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks much!
Old January 23rd, 2007, 12:41 PM
Tom Servo's Stunt Double

Welcome to classicoldsmobile.com! I'm a 71 driver myself.

It'd be easier to help if you'd put your location in your profile.

C.J.
Old January 23rd, 2007, 07:20 PM

If you are going bone stock you can buy a rebuilt one at Advance Auto, or Autozone. HOWEVER I would look at how much a local shop charges to rebuild yours. Kits are not that expensive, and it may be a good time to beef it up with a B&M kit during the rebuild.

and that is regardless of where in the world you live...lol

John
Old January 23rd, 2007, 09:10 PM

Thank you for the welcome! and I am from Illinois. Also! a FREEZE PLUG needs to be replaced..now I have heard 2 things from 2 different people on this. One is their cheap..but a lot of labor considering you need to take apart the entire engine..but the other person said..the engine is done with if it needs a new freeze plug...which confused me...because the guy who sold it to me..said it can run...but don't run it long at all otherwise you can ruin the engine since the freeze plug isnt there...So i would assume that as long as i get that fixed..it should be ok..and i won't need a whole new engine? Please tell me I'm right! Thanks again guys
Old January 24th, 2007, 03:42 PM
Tom Servo's Stunt Double