Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

1968 Cutlass S Front Bumper Bent Inward

Search this Thread

Old October 10th, 2023, 09:37 PM

1968 Cutlass S Front Bumper Bent Inward

Hello Y'all,

I recently got a 68 cutlass s barn find, and I've started doin the work to get her running. I've come to notice that the front bumper, is bent inward on the nose, and I was wondering if anyone knows any tips or other info on how to bend it out.

one little thing before y'all respond, im extremely new to this car scene, as my dad has brought me into it. Im only 19, so I won't understand most references.

Just lookin for some tips, or old school tricks on how to bend the bumper back out.

Thank y'all,
Have a good night.
Old October 11th, 2023, 04:22 AM

You either need to replace the bumper, find an "old school" body shop to bend it back into place, or get a hustler stick and do it yourself.

https://www.eastwood.com/keysco-the-...ick-77175.html

If you buy a hustler stick to do it yourself I suggest practicing on steel truck bumpers in the salvage yard first.

I'd like to get a hustler stick and become proficient with it. Both of the bumpers on my 86 Ford truck are bent and I don't feel like buying Chinesium replacements.

Last edited by Olds64; October 11th, 2023 at 04:24 AM.
Old October 11th, 2023, 05:20 AM
Administrator

Post a picture of what it looks like from a few angles. There are a few ways you can do this yourself, but need to see what you have.
Old October 11th, 2023, 07:31 AM

Congrats on your new car! Post up some pics when you get a chance. And welcome to CO!
Old October 30th, 2023, 04:53 PM

got it fixed, and here’s some photos for y’all. Now i need to go through wiring everything for the dash. since this car is a barn find, and the original owner seemingly cut all the wires to everything, i’d greatly appreciate any help or tips on where to start, as none of the guages work, and all the wires are cut. Here are photos of the car: