Stainless Trim Restoration: critique my process

Search this Thread

Old August 27th, 2023, 11:49 AM

Stainless Trim Restoration: critique my process

I have a fairly decent hoard of 66 big car trim under my house most all of which needs at least polishing to make improvements over what’s on my cars. I’m no pro, but I’ve polished 40 or so pieces over the past 5 years after watching a few YouTube videos and copying what they’ve done.

I’m not sure my results are as good as they can be, so here’s what I’ve been doing, if you all have suggestions and improvements, I’d like to hear your thoughts.

For trim that’s just dull, i.e. no big dents or dings, I’m sanding the factory finish with 600 sandpaper mostly by hand to get it back to a consistent surface. Then I run the piece on a sisal wheel (actually 2 glued together for more polishing surface area) with black or brown buffing compound which is reputed to be between 600 and 800 grit equivalent. Then I’m polishing the resultant piece on a spiral cotton wheel with either gray or green compound from Jackson Lea.

This process is at least o.k., but I’m wondering if I’m skipping too many steps and rushing it a bit. Opinions?

I’ve only just gotten body & paint hammers and dollies, so I’m very much in learning mode on how to use them. Good tools (as always) seem to make a difference.

For dinged & dented trim, I flatten it out again to the best of my limited abilities, then use a file to show high/low spots and then start blending-sanding with 180 grit, followed by 320, 400, 600, 800 and then off to the sisal buffing wheel, finishing with the green/grey on the spiral cotton buff. This process is o.k. too, but I don’t think I’ll get any awards for my metal working skills. Getting this stuff flat again is either harder than I understand or I’m just not patient enough or both.