Vintage Oldsmobiles Curved Dash, Limited Touring, Models 40, 53, 66; Series 60, 70, 90

Father in-law finally gave up/in

Old August 23rd, 2018, 10:16 AM

Father in-law finally gave up/in

I am new to all of this and unsure of exactly what i have but thought i would share. Some of the particulars of this one might be special. See for yourself:

1948. ??? Custom Cruiser "98" ???
Straight 6.
Under 21k original miles.
Original interior.??

Was driven into the barn 30 years ago. Had it towed out this week (sold the property). Planning to keep it this way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_2554.JPG (2.38 MB, 64 views)
IMG_2556.JPG (3.97 MB, 64 views)
IMG_2557.JPG (3.82 MB, 68 views)
IMG_2558.JPG (2.87 MB, 72 views)
IMG_2559.JPG (2.64 MB, 68 views)
Old August 23rd, 2018, 10:20 AM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, I moved your thread to the Vintage section. Great group and they can answer all your questions.
Old August 23rd, 2018, 12:05 PM

The 76 in the VIN likely indicates a Dynamic 76. It's definitely not a 98 nor a Custom Cruiser. No 98 ever came with a 6-cylinder engine (the "8" in 98 indicates 8-cylinder engine). Back in those days, the second digit of the model indicated the number of cylinders on the engine, so a 76 is a 70-series Oldsmobile with a 6-cylinder engine, as your car has.

Here's a 70-series four-door sedan from the '48 Olds brochure. Looks a lot like the car in your photos.

Old August 23rd, 2018, 12:15 PM

Welcome to the site. That's a beautiful car. I bet it will be a joy to drive.
Old August 23rd, 2018, 12:24 PM

Re: What do I have?

Originally Posted by Breaking Ben
I am new to all of this and unsure of exactly what i have but thought i would share. Some of the particulars of this one might be special. See for yourself:

1948. ??? Custom Cruiser "98" ???
Straight 6.
Under 21k original miles.
Original interior.??

Was driven into the barn 30 years ago. Had it towed out this week (sold the property). Planning to keep it this way.