62 Starfire trans. swap

Search this Thread

Old October 5th, 2012, 03:41 PM

62 Starfire trans. swap

I have a 62 star fire and am looking to replace the transmission seeing as it just recently died on me. because it's a slim jim it has been a pain trying to find anyone who will even touch the damn thing so i'm looking to replace it with the th350 or 400. I am open to any suggestions because i'm still VERY new to this and would like some professional advice. I was looking to purchase the transmission through summit racing. So some questions i have would be, what other parts would need to be replaced when swapping a transmission? mind you, i want to COMPLETELY replace the transmission. also what modifications would i need to make to the vehicle itself. After doing some research i noticed most people said the cross members and driveshaft but they were for different model and year olds? and last, most of the th350's on summit specify a vehicle such as chevy or pontiac. does that mean something as far as having it mounted? like I said I'm really new to this and am pretty lost. any help would be greatly appreciated
Old October 5th, 2012, 11:41 PM
Oldsdruid

Nothing else will bolt in easily except another SlimJim. Even a 4-speed Jetaway HydraMatic will probably require some transmission tunnel work. All other GM transmissions require modifying the case to attach it to the Rocket engine plus whatever mods have to be made to get the unit to fit in the car.

The Rocket engine/ SJ combo uses a three point mounting system- a front motor mount under the engine's timing cover, and two transmission mounts at the rear sides of it. You will have to figure a way to mount it stably in the car.

Search for KQQLCAT' s posts on here. He put a Turbo 400 in his 61 and had a great pic thread about it.