1972 TH350 need input

Search this Thread

Old January 17th, 2016, 08:32 PM

1972 TH350 need input

I have a pretty stock 72 442 with a 350 and a turbo 350. I am finishing a six year resto that I bought non-running from a PO (I.e.- not sure how it did or did not perform before i started), gears are cruisers, I think 2.73. Here is my problem, when I get on the gas- the car seems like the ebrake is on or something...it isn't and all the wheels spin freely, but it is like it needs more rpm than you would think to get it going. It also shifts pretty high from second to third. I checked the fluid levels and they look right. Once i get to cruising speed20,30,40,50, etc, then all is good I bench carried in the tranny when it was apart and had it gone through, etc but suspect the PO may have some type of excessive stall converter installed. I am not a trans expert and just looking for some solid starting points before I take off in the wrong direction. Thanks as always, Joe
Old January 17th, 2016, 09:19 PM

Originally Posted by Joe Hatton
Here is my problem, when I get on the gas- the car seems like the ebrake is on or something...it isn't and all the wheels spin freely, but it is like it needs more rpm than you would think to get it going.
Can you give more description as to what the issue is? What you posted doesn't make any sense to me.
Old January 17th, 2016, 10:18 PM
same but different

At what engine rpm does the drive line engage at?

In other words, with your foot on the brake just a little, at what engine speed does the car start to move?
Old January 18th, 2016, 04:24 AM
Administrator

Are you trying to say its not downshifting when you floor it?
Old January 18th, 2016, 05:54 AM