Question/ Guidance Request - Pertronix Ignition in 67 Toronado

Search this Thread

Old March 28th, 2014, 05:46 AM

Question/ Guidance Request - Pertronix Ignition in 67 Toronado

Hello All,
Wanted to ask for some guidance re converting to Pertronix ignition (going from stock distributor w points) in a 1967 Toronado. This is a very basic question but I have no knowledge base in this area!
So... If I am going with Pertronix what specific parts are needed/recommended for this Toro application.
Thanks!!
Old March 28th, 2014, 07:15 AM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

Welcome Tom. We would like to see some pictures of your car but we will answer your questions (hopefully) anyway. Everything you need to install it comes in the box. It is an easy installation. Be careful not to drop any of the small screws inside the distributor. I changed the coil to a higher output coil and increased the plug gap a little. There has been a lot of discussion on here about the pros and cons of converting. You will not see an increase in performance but you will see quicker starting and less maintenance. I am a big fan of Pertronix.
Old March 28th, 2014, 10:11 PM
Administrator

Welcome Tom, x2 on the pictures. Just read and follow the directions, I find it easier to pull the distributor to work on it.
Old March 29th, 2014, 09:40 AM

Question

Originally Posted by TomType1
Hello All,
Wanted to ask for some guidance re converting to Pertronix ignition (going from stock distributor w points) in a 1967 Toronado. This is a very basic question but I have no knowledge base in this area!
So... If I am going with Pertronix what specific parts are needed/recommended for this Toro application.
Thanks!!

Welcome to classicoldsmobile, Tom!