66 Toronado Stumbling Issue

Search this Thread

Old August 27th, 2013, 07:57 AM
Olds Newbie

66 Toronado Stumbling Issue

Here is my issue. 66 Toronado, 31k miles, 425 engine, 4 bbl original (I think) carb. Overall in really nice shape. It had been sitting with little run time for the last 5 years or so. The car starts fine, sounds awesome at idle, and accelerates most of the time on the road perfectly fine. Light throttle or heavy, most of the time it is OK.

Occasionally, however, it will really "stumble" when giving it more throttle. When it is acting up, it will generally still accelerate OK, even up to 75 mph or more, as long as you are light on the pedal. When it is acting up, giving it 1/4 pedal, or sometimes even less than that will cause the stumble, where it pops and seems to perhaps even slow down. Back off the throttle, and it goes fine.

This problem comes and goes, and may be present for a few miles, then goes away for 40 miles or more.

I am not an expert in car repair, so I am not sure what to look for exactly or where to start. I have checked as best I can for vacuum leaks and did not find any. The hoses look good, everything is tight at the connections as near as I can tell, and pulling off lines here and there show a pretty good vacuum using the "finger test".

I checked the spark plug and coil wires, and everything looks good and tight. The distributor looks to be in good shape - no cracks, points look fine. I checked the timing and it seems to be real close to on with the vacuum advance off of it, and moves ahead as expected with it on.

Like I said, I am a bit of a novice, so I would appreciate any suggestions you might have. If there is more specific information you may want. please let me know.
Old August 27th, 2013, 08:14 AM

I just dealt with exactly the same issue. It was the fuel filter was clogged.

Last edited by Professur; August 27th, 2013 at 09:41 AM.
Old August 27th, 2013, 09:13 AM