66' headlights - newbie vacuum questions

Search this Thread

Old June 10th, 2022, 04:57 PM

66' headlights - newbie vacuum questions

Good day all,

I'm pretty new to the whole vacuum driven headlights system and I'm trying to learn as much as I can. My 66' headlights seem to be working fine after I replaced a leaking T fitting (the one next to the check valve near the brake booster) but it occurred to me that there must be some calibrated leaks in this system? I mean, you can't endlessly pull vacuum as you would probably damage something eventually right?

So how long after you shut the car down do you have before you can't put the headlights up anymore? I'm assuming the check valve allows you to retain some vacuum in the reservoir so that the headlights can come up without the car running?

Are all the T fittings special or is it just a select few? I'm thinking that the T fittings would be where the "calibrated" leaks are placed? I just shoved any old T fitting into the junction by the brake booster because the old one was leaking like crazy. Am I way off in my thinking here?
Old June 10th, 2022, 05:39 PM

It would be a good idea to cite year / model. But this time it’s easy since (I think) only Toro’s had vacuum influenced headlights.

I think it’s a reasonable expectation that vacuum will leak down 10-15 minutes after engine shutdown. If you get more, great!, but if not, I’d still consider the parts fit for purpose.

I’ve been troubleshooting my ‘66’s vacuum systems over past few months. Just a couple of pointers below. I have 1 car that will hold vacuum over night no problem and another that leaks down in 5-10 minutes after engine shutdown. So it goes.

Tool & supply parts wise, get a vacuum hand pump and 6 or 8 feet of 5/32”, 7/32” and maybe 1/4” vacuum hose.