1966 Toronado

Search this Thread

Old December 13th, 2007, 10:46 AM
dar83501

1966 Toronado

$1200, good running condition, complete, but needs a restoration. What should I be on the lookout for aside from the obvious? It's 340 miles away from me, but for me the price is right if it makes the journey home. I requested more pictures from the guy, I will take a look at those when he gets around to getting them. One picture was all he had and it isnt very good.

Old December 13th, 2007, 11:09 AM

Im not a Toronado expert but rust is a problem lower quarters, fenders, and around windshields. There are also drain tubes from vents above trunklid that fail and let water into the trunk I think. Front drive universal joints on drive axles have a rubber boot to seal out dirt and water. They are usually torn and this causes the joints to wear which can be a costly repair. My opinion is a good solid car can be found for much less it would cost to restore a Toronado. If its a project you are looking for and within your budget then this may be your car....Look it over good and decide.
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:17 AM
dar83501

yes, it would be a project. I already have one Olds project going, but I've always wanted an older Toro or Cutlass for one as well.

Old December 14th, 2007, 04:38 AM
Past Administrator

You cant go too wrong for $1200, good luck on the new project.
Old December 14th, 2007, 07:31 PM

If you pick it up I'm in the process of dismantling two Toro's, one 1966 and one 1967. I'm probably a little further away than 340 miles, in Southwestern Oregon. John
Old December 15th, 2007, 06:19 AM

I think that is a fair price as long as it doesn't have horrible rust or busted out windows. You can always redo the interior and have rust fixed. I know that the old Toronados had hide away headlights that got stuck in the up position often. I believe they are pneumatically activated and the motors get stuck after 40+ years.
Old December 19th, 2007, 01:48 PM
dar83501