1966 toro master cylinder upgrade..

Search this Thread

Old August 2nd, 2012, 10:25 AM

1966 toro master cylinder upgrade..

I have searched and what I have found is I can use the vacuum booster and dual master cylinder from a 1967 with no promblem, am I correct? what else would I need? for front drum rear drum.
Old September 16th, 2015, 08:07 PM

Bringing this thread back from the dead. I have the same question. Anyone?
Old September 16th, 2015, 08:33 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Paxtonshelby
Bringing this thread back from the dead. I have the same question. Anyone?
Welcome. Yes, simply swap the booster and M/C from a 67. Of course, you'll need to replumb some of the brake lines. The booster needs to change because the dual circuit M/C uses a different pushrod.
Old September 17th, 2015, 12:17 PM

Thanks a bunch for the info and the welcome, Joe!

I'm totally new to the Olds world. Until now I've been a Ford guy but I found a '66 Toro ( of course it's a 4-wheel drum setup with a single bowl master cylinder ) that I just couldn't pass up. So please bear with me as I cut my teeth in the GM world!

The goal...get the car back on the road by 5/1/16 and use it as my daily driver 9 months of the year.

Do I need to incorporate the "switch" ( not sure if it's a block or a union or ?? ) that operates the "BRAKE" light on the dash in the event the braking system develops a leak and runs the brake fluid level low? Seems like it's not really necessary - if the pedal goes to the floor or if I find fluid on the garage floor I'd figure out pretty quick that I have a problem ). Honestly, I'm not even sure I have a "BRAKE" light on my dash as I haven't even had the car running yet ( I was told by a close friend that the car runs but has a rod knock - so I'm not planning to start it until I rebuild the motor. I guess I could toss in a battery to test the lights and all... ).