1966 Big Car Tilt & Tele steering column primer

Search this Thread

Old September 14th, 2023, 02:09 PM

1966 Big Car Tilt & Tele steering column primer

Gang,
I've been working on 66 big car tilt & tele columns since the 80's and thought it was time to write down the common problems, solutions, and how to get it apart. I always thought this was a fun feature and especially like the aircraft yoke looking steering wheel.

I'm an amateur, so read if you're interested, but please take your car to a professional for anything that might threaten your or your passenger's safety.

Fair warning that this might get long, so I hope I don't bore you too much.

Background
'66 was the first year for the B (88's) &C (98's) &E (Toronado) cars to get a column that tilted & telescoped. In 65, Olds offered tilt only, no telescoping, so that's one way to see what year column you might have. I'm told that our Olds columns share 90% of their internal parts with Cadillacs of the same year, so if you're hunting for rare parts, that's another avenue to run down. Unless I miss my guess the last 10% of the differences would be the trim parts which differentiated Caddy from Olds. The lower shaft may be different length for Caddy's vs Olds, so don't expect to just drop in a Caddy column in your Olds.

Also you cannot swap a Toronado column into an 88/98. The Toros had a longer lower shaft, but the upper shaft & trim pieces can swap into an 88/98. In the Toros, the tilt & turn signal stalks were black metal, not chrome like the 88's and 98's, but the parts can physically swap with no problem. The turn signal bowden cable for the Toro's is also longer that the 88/98 cables, so they don't swap either. While the Toro and 88/98 steering wheels had a similar design, the Toro wheel is deeper than the 88's/98's