350 camshaft

Search this Thread

Old September 8th, 2014, 03:57 PM

350 camshaft

Ok, so I have a 350 sbo blah blah blah and I'm not very good with the camshaft stuff, so I need to know which duration and lift and stuff on a cam that I need. I don't really want to lose mpg because i'm almost never going to race it, but I'm looking to get hp to like 350 and torque to 400 plus. The engine is bone stock so i'd need a cam and lifter kit or whatever. like I said stock, so no real details to worry about.
Old September 8th, 2014, 04:04 PM

I assume you have a flat top 69 motor that's four barrel with #5 heads but I saw this mild Howards cam that could fit close to the bill if you also did headers with it.
510021-12 NA
267 277 adv
213 223 @ 050
.480 .480 w 1.6
112 LSA
106 ICL
Hyd. type
1200-5800 range
Street Performer/Hot Jet Boats. 4 barrel & good exhaust a must.

For some that will say the 325 hp W31 cam being bigger duration (232/232) was only rated 325 hp remember that was under rated below peak and I believe it is at least 370 HP on the W31 with headers in stock form or more. The higher duration of the W31 would kill off all your low end and even hurt mid range torque and be a pig if the gears are not adequate so hence the Howards choice above with modest but effective duration at 050

Last edited by GEARMAN69; September 8th, 2014 at 04:15 PM.
Old September 8th, 2014, 06:18 PM

Originally Posted by 350TurBRO
Ok, so I have a 350 sbo blah blah blah and I'm not very good with the camshaft stuff, so I need to know which duration and lift and stuff on a cam that I need. I don't really want to lose mpg because i'm almost never going to race it, but I'm looking to get hp to like 350 and torque to 400 plus. The engine is bone stock so i'd need a cam and lifter kit or whatever. like I said stock, so no real details to worry about.

The Howard Cam he listed won't hit these goals.