Help! Oil Pressure Sending Unit Hole

Search this Thread

Old May 22nd, 2007, 04:58 PM

Help! Oil Pressure Sending Unit Hole

Hey Olds friends!

I have a big problem that's keeping my '72 Olds Cutlass S off the road. I'm hoping someone can help me (and be my personal savior). The car has about 150,000 miles on it, and an Olds 350 engine (I think the original). I'm a newbie when it comes to working on engines, cars. I've done brakes, valve covers, replaced carburetors, alternators, nothing too complex, etc.

While trying to remove a seemingly defective electric oil sending unit, the unit snapped off at the bottom (the metal tube part), leaving the part that screws into the engine stuck in the block. So, if I start this thing, I'm in for an oil shower of epic proportions.

I have attached pictures of my situation. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get this piece of threaded metal out of the block so that I don't 1) strip the hole/threads of the hole or 2) get metal shavings into the engine?

I'm a long time reader (non contributor...I don't know enough yet to help out as well as you guys)...please help! Any suggestions would be super appreciated..THANKS!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
olds_oil_send0.jpg (62.5 KB, 276 views)
olds_oil_send.jpg (39.3 KB, 209 views)
olds_block_big.jpg (66.1 KB, 197 views)
olds_engine.jpg (92.4 KB, 184 views)
olds_block.jpg (54.1 KB, 236 views)
Old May 22nd, 2007, 05:35 PM
Old(s) Fart

Go to an auto parts store and get an eze-out. It's a hardened steel thing that looks like a lefthand drill bit/tap. You hammer it into the stump of the fitting and turn it counterclockwise with a wrench. The lefthand flutes on the eze-out will bite into the ID of the remains of the fitting and hopefully unscrew it.